Studio-friendly appliances – review of Presto electrical skillet

I have taken some time off from blogging as I was trying to assimilate in my new studio.  Haven’t posted anything in a couple of weeks time, and upon my comeback, decided to start out with a new niche.  Since I suck at fiction, I thought that product reviews would be my next best.  I used to be writing them for the Walmart Spark Reviewer program but it’s closed now and I miss it dearly .  Since I still feel an urge to do a review, here I go. My reviews will likely be closely associated with my growing love for the little studio where I now live.

I will start with the Presto electrical skillet that is very studio-friendly.

It’s a foldaway kind and is just the right size to fit on the bottom shelf of my linen closet when not in use. Yes, you heard it right. A linen closet or all-purpose closet if you will, houses some of my portable appliances. The skillet and the 4-qt crockpot along with a few smaller ones.

Back to the skillet. I love it; it’s truly a live saver while living in a studio with no full-size appliances. Actually it was lack of the full size appliances that has led me on the quest for the portable ones. The skillet measures 12 x 12 and doesn’t take much room. It’s pretty much set-it-and-forget-it type. It’s a great skillet to cook for a crowd or if you don’t mind freezing the leftovers, it’ll work, too.

So far I have used it for cooking pork chops, a kind with the bone in it which is my favorite. I usually set the temperature on about 250 degrees, sit the chops in the skillet, cover and leave it well alone for about 15 minutes. Then I come back, flip them and let go for another 10 to 15 minutes. I didn’t add any oil and the meat tasted better this way; it brought up the natural flavors. The taste is absolutely unique; there is no way that I could make anything like that in a conventional skillet on stovetop. Yum.

5. May 6 - Presto skillet

When you first set it to cook, the light on the probe goes on and after a while it’ll be on and of which is perfectly normal as it is the way this smart skillet adjusts the temperature automatically. There’s a spout in one corner that acts as a vent and also to pour out cooking juices.

This skillet being a truly non-stick, is a low maintenance and easy to clean. Just wash with water & soap, rinse & wipe dry and it’s all set. Now that I have it, I can’t imagine cooking without it.

And the crockpot is, well, a crockpot. No bells or whistles but does what it’s supposed to do.

 

Leave a Reply

