The Daily Prompt: Darkness. My laptop’s having insomnia

It won’t stay asleep. It will fall asleep alright once I press the Power button, but then it would promptly  wake up.

Restarting didn’t help and neither did my numerous tries. I googled this problem and found a small consolation that I am not alone in this, along with a few advices none of which worked.

Then I decided to open a Command Prompt and type “powercfg -lastwake” into it which produced a whole bunch of USB Root Hub lines.  I started right-clicking on each one trying to find out which one is a culprit but gave up about halfway.

I was getting close to singing lullaby for the seeming lack of other options, but started thinking, if this somehow has to something to do with the USB ports, why not free all of them?  Which was my next and last step.  Once I pulled all the cords from their respective USB ports and hit Power button,  the screen immediately started displaying nothing but darkness; my laptop blissfully went to sleep and didn’t wake up until the following morning, and even then, with the help of the Power button.

Yay!!

Laptop sleeping zzz

This post was written in response to the Daily Post Prompt: DARKNESS.

4 thoughts on “The Daily Prompt: Darkness. My laptop’s having insomnia

  1. MickETalbot says:

    Lucky me, as I have never experienced the problem myself. Just wondering though, was it all the ports causing the problem? If you haven’t already, (and especially if you have to clear all ports before tucking it in), it might be that it is only one of the ports/hardware that is causing the conflict, maybe worth checking out? Another thought based on most operating systems offering options as to how, and when the sleep function is utilised. The primary options on how, is as you have already mentioned the others being: Clicking on the o.s. icon brings up 3 choices as in: Shut down, Sleep, and Restart. The when option is a time you select if your PC is on but not being used, and is selected in system set up. All of the latter being based on the Windows o.s’s, and I am sure you are aware of, and tried them all. If the latter is the case, then it has to be that one item of hardware is causing the conflict in that it is not compatible with the sleep function, or o.s., I really cant see it being all of them? However like nature, technology can confound us all at times.

    Good luck and best wishes,
    Mick

    Liked by 1 person

    • annasdiabetes says:

      Thanks for taking the time to reply, Mick. Yes, my OS in Windows. I am aware of the other options, however all I was trying to accomplish was to put it to sleep in one swift step, by simply pressing the Power button. I had this set up in the Control Panel so this is what I expected to happen. As of last night, turned out that only one USB port was the culprit which I figured out by trial and error. It’s the one that has the hub plugged into. Bingo.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

