Weekly Photo Challenge: Narrow. My Blue Is Orange today

I always thought that my favorite color was blue but have spent most of today challenging this. I have traded my old blue car for an orange VW New Beetle. I’ve never been hot about an orange color in a car but it looks cool with black. Still love blue regardless.

My old car was 10+ years old; it was steadily going downhill and looked the part. I didn’t want to pour more money into it and decided to go for a replacement. I started with the Craigslist, however this turned out complicated as no one was willing to let me take their car for an inspection. Since I stood my ground, this didn’t work out so I turned to the dealerships.

Here I’ve spotted the orange VW Bug in my price range with low mileage. It’s a 2002 VW New Beetle turbo. It has leather seats that I suspect not a real leather which is what VW is known for, but looks good nevertheless.  A leather-wrapped steering wheel. A sunroof that I am not sure that I’ll use but it’s there anyway. A Monsoon stereo with a few speakers and a cassette player that I won’t use so will be listening to a local FM station as usual, fine.  A few other things that I’m yet to figure out.

Looks like it was parked in the garage as there is no rust; I personally checked the rocker panels and found them intact. The carfax listed regularly done maintenance. I took it for a test drive and liked it.

The dealership had treated it as an ugly duckling. The pictures posted on the website were stock. The description was pretty much stock as well; no word about it being a turbo or leather interior. The poor Bug wasn’t even detailed up until I was ready to buy it. Then the salesman popped up the hood and out looks a bright yellow sticker. I’m like, what is it? Turned out, the timing belt was replaced 10K miles ago. I wish I kept my mouth shut for a moment, might struck a better deal. It costs over a $1,000 to replace said belt. I still was able to struck a deal, out-the-door.

Then I took it for an inspection that revealed a few things but nothing major.

Buying a VW Bug is a perfect way to downsize. Turned out that I inadvertently used my old Hyundai Elantra as an extra closet. I’ve discovered about half a dozen of ice scrapers in the different locations, a small pile of maps and miscellaneous. It took a while to move all that from point A to point B. In the process, I started realizing that the storage space inside the Bug is smaller than in my old car. Downsizing took place on the spot. I just left the balance at the point A.

So far everything works albeit in a slightly different way that I was used to in the last decade or so.  But will just have to take my time, learn a few controls, get a spare key from a VW dealership and just get used to.

It’s sitting slightly lower to the ground than my old car was which can be a problem at winter going through the snow. It is however possible to raise the Bug which I will have to check with a shop.

Oh and it has a spare tire that is a full size and not a donut. This again was something that the salesman had no clue about, so when I inquired, he had to actually open the hatch, lift up the carpet and look.

I had to fill it up with gas as it had less than a quarter of a tank left. My old car had a full tank of gas, grrr. A lesson learned, if you’re looking to trade your car, don’t fill it all the way up. Oh well.

Here’s a picture of my pretty orange VW Bug parked in its quite narrow garage space.

Bug in garage

This is the Bug’s key with it’s working part being narrow as well; it’ll fold and open up with a push of a button.

key open

This post fits right into the Weekly Photo Challenge: Narrow although it wasn’t initially written in response to one. It just happened so at the spur of the moment.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Narrow. My Blue Is Orange today

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    That is such a lovely new car that you have. It sort of looks like a little orange ladybug 😀 Congratulations on the new purchase, and I hope it serves you well. Good luck with getting it raised for the winter and hopefully that works out. I’ve never driven in snow before but I generally prefer lower-level, small cars as I’m a petite person 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

