Today’s Prompt: Millions. Half the internet is down.

I tried to tweet a few blogs that I follow and hit the brick wall. No connection. I thought it was me, so I went ahead and restarted my computer but to no avail. Then I went on googling.

Turned out it wasn’t just me. Twitter is officially down, confirmed, along with a handful others such as Spotify, Shopify, SoundCloud, Netflix, Reddit, Disqus, Paypal, Pinterest and more. Estimated about half the internet is down. I am not sure how close to a million the total number is but the good news is, WordPress is up and running as usual.

All this mess is due to a massive cyberattack. It specifically targeted Dyn, Inc., the company that provides domain name service to these sites.

The White House is aware of the situation, and the U.S. Homeland Security is investigating this.

Here’s to hoping this will get straightened out somehow, rather sooner than later.

This post was inspired by Today’s Prompt:  Millions.

life-happens

Leave a Reply

