The Daily Post Prompt: Punishment

I don’t know what I have done wrong that prompted Microsoft to punish me. I can’t access my hotmail account, the second day in a row as of today.

When I try in vain to get through, I end up with this image right smack in the middle of the screen:

1

It goes on blinking about half a dozen times; I know, I counted. When it’s done blinking, I’m getting this message:

2

And that’s the dead end. I tried to figure it out by asking Google.

Of course, Microsoft sends me on a wild goose chase by telling to reset my password. How in the world am I supposed to reset it when I can’t get there to begin with?

And then it tells me to Check the Status of the Service, which brings me to yet another screen. A bright green one that cheerfully informs me that everything is up and running. Hmmm, not at my neck of the woods.

3 up and running

Will try again tomorrow.

This post was written in response to The Daily Post Prompt: Punishment.

 

4 thoughts on “The Daily Post Prompt: Punishment

  1. Berni says:

    Why did you complain to Google? Isn’t hotmail a Microsoft service?

    If you can find an “I forgot my password” link, follow it and that may solve the problem.

    Failing that, go back and try logging in. When the screen comes with bad message, press the PRINT SCREEN button, usually found at upper right hand side of standard keyboard.

    Open Windows Paint or any other such program and paste (Cntrl+V or Edit/Paste menu command). Save the file in .JPG format in a folder you can remember. Also remember file’s name!

    Go to Microsof.com site, find their contact email (in Contact Us or Help page) and tell them when this problem happens and attach the screen shot.

    Good luck.

    P.S. Usually, if it’s from their side, their sin, it will resolve within days, if not hours, automatically.

    Liked by 3 people

    • annasdiabetes says:

      Berni,

      I didn’t complain to Google; I was looking for the solutions. I “googled” my problem.

      Moreover, this isn’t a case of forgetting password. The problem is, there’s something wrong at the Microsoft end which doesn’t allow me to get anywhere. I don’t even get to the point of password. What I was trying to say is that Microsoft comes up with a standard set of questions / suggestions that are of no help to me.

      Thanks for the explanations how to take screenshots but I’ve done this already. The three images posted were done by taking screenshots, either by pressing Print Screen or else by using a Snipping Tool.

      I can’t find Contact Email for Microsoft. But of course, can try again.

      Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Berni says:

    I personally dislike hotmail, partly due to its slightly indecent name. They used to have a policy of cancelling accounts and deleting all data if not accessed for 90 days.

    I’ll search for their contact email. Give me some time.

    When I once contacted their engineers, they failed to diagnose the problem and tried to fool me into upgrading to newer Windows.

    But it was a virus and I never upgraded to newer Windows.

    Like

Leave a comment